» Homepage
» About the Permier League
» Permier League History
» Permier League Finances
» About Shirt Sponsors
» Value in Shirt Sponsorship
» Resources
» Contact us

Clubs & Sponsorship Info

» Stoke City
» Swansea City
» Aston Villa
» West Ham
» Wigan Athletic
» Fulham
» Newcastle United
» Chelsea
» Arsenal
» Liverpool
» Manchester United
» Sunderland
» Tottenham Hotspur
» Everton
» Norwich City
» West Brom
» Manchester City

Gaming Site Reviews

» 12BET.COM Sportsbook
» SBOBET Sportsbook
» 32Red Casino
» Bet365 Sportsbook
» Genting Casino

Gaming Portals

» Best UK Online Casinos
» On-line Casino Guide
» All About Online Slots

Buy Premier Leauge Shirts

Subside Sports for Premier League Shirts

« Homepage

Premier League Football History

After a decision was made by the top clubs to break away from The Football League, the FA Premier League was formed on February 20th 1992. Since forming, there has been a total of five different clubs who have won the title, including Blackburn Rovers FC (1 title), Chelsea FC (3 titles), Manchester City FC (1 title), Arsenal FC (3 titles) and Manchester United FC (12 titles).

Before the Premier League was so-called, the top flight division in English football was known as the Football League First Division, aka League one. From 1993 to 2001, the league was known as the FA Carling Premiership, because it was sponsored by Carling.

From 2001-2004, it was known as the Barclaycard Premiership when it was sponsored by Barclaycard and from 2004-present, the league was sponsored by Barclays Bank and was known as the Barclays Premiership until 2007. After that, the league was (and still is) known as the Barclays Premier League.

In the first ever season, the Premier League contained 22 teams, but today there are 20 individual teams. The first ever goal scored was on the 15th August 1992 by a player called Brian Deane (Sheffield Utd). Capacity at Premier League games was recorded at 69.6% and the first ever Premier League winners were Manchester United.

While manchester United set a League and FA Cup double record (a feat managed by only four other clubs), one other player, Andy Cole notched up a record-breaking 34 goals in one season, which is then equalled the following season by Alan Shearer.

In the 1995/96 season, Manchester United once again complete the League and Cup double, as the league is reduced to having just 20 teams, rather than 22 teams. A Young David Beckham wins the PFA Young Player of the Year and United take the title for a fourth time. In season 1997/98, Manchester United were beaten by just won point and the title went to Arsenal FC.

In the 1998/99 season, Manchester United once again claim the title, but also win the UEFA Champions League and the FA Cup (known as winning the treble). They actually won the 1999/2000 league title by a huge 18 point gap, while scoring almost 100 goals. The following season witnesses the fastest ever goal scored in the Premier League by Ledley King in just 10 seconds.

Chelsea win the league in two consecutive seasons (2004/05 and 2005/06) and just two years later, the average premiership ground capacity now stands at 92% full. Over the next few years, Chelsea, Manchester United and Manchester City (in that order) claim the Premier League title, which brings us up to the present day.